Season opener: A Concert by The Budapest Strings featuring Gábor Bretz

Vivaldi: L’Olimpiade, RV 725 – Overture
J. S. Bach: Ich habe genug cantata, BWV 82
C. Ph. E. Bach: Symphony in E minor, Wq 178

Mozart: The Marriage of Figaro, K. 427 – Overture
Mozart: “Non più andrai” – Figaro’s aria from the first act of The Marriage of Figaro
Beethoven: “Hat man nicht auch Gold beineben” – Rocco’s aria from Fidelio’s first act

Mozart: Madamina! Il catalago è questo – Leporello’s Register Aria from Don Giovanni’s first act

Mozart: Symphony No. 33 (in B major), K. 319

Featuring vocal soloist Gábor Bretz – bass

One of the most beautiful pieces of Bach’s incomprehensibly rich cantata oeuvre is the Ich habe genug solo cantata, which has become a popular piece in the repertoires of soprano soloists and most recently countertenors. The work was originally composed for bass, and our renown singer guest Gábor Bretz will perform it in this form, according to the first version composed in 1727.   Vivaldi’s opera L’Olimpiade was composed a few years later, while C. P. E. Bach’s symphony in E minor was created six years after his father’s death. Adolf Hasse, one of the greatest musical authorities of the age, insisted that piece that he had never heard anything better than this three-movement piece. It is probable that Hasse heard the string orchestra version of the piece; this time at the concert by the Budapest Strings, the orchestration supplemented with wind instruments is going to be performed. In the second half of the concert, Gábor Bretz is going to present three very different opera figures, and it is possible that a fourth will appear as well.




Ticket price

2800-5800 HUF

More Info

Read More
Music Academy, Great Hall


Music Academy, Great Hall
1061 Budapest, Liszt Ferenc tér 8.
Season tickets

Comments are closed.